Printer skeleton

Printer skeleton

To be perfectly honest, at the time I actually had it in mind to go with a pure wolfstrap solution, however rather than waiting on some order for optoswitches I figured I’d go down to the thrift store and get some myself. Having stepper motors and structure come with the printers, it rapidly became clear that scavenging would outline the shape of things to come.

Shown here is the moving structure that came with the first printer. Unlike most parts I see online, the gears are solid metal and are of a much smaller diameter, thereby allowing smaller step size and in turn greater precision. The belts are ready made for these gears and are clearly capable of handling linear motion, which itself has driven the recent trend towards gt2 belts in the reprap community.

Leave a comment